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TENTATIVE RULINGS for LAW and MOTION  

July 31, 2020 
 

Pursuant to Yolo County Local Rules, the following tentative rulings will become the order of 

the court unless, by 4:00 p.m. on the court day before the hearing, a party requests a hearing and 

notifies other counsel of the hearing.  To request a hearing, you must contact the clerk of the 

department where the hearing is to be held.  Copies of the tentative rulings will be posted on 

Yolo Court’s Website, at www.yolo.courts.ca.gov.  If you are scheduled to appear and there is no 

tentative ruling in your case, you should appear as scheduled. 

 

Telephone number for the clerk in Department Nine   (530) 406-6819 

 

NOTICE: Effective May 4, 2020, all court appearances are by Zoom or Conference call.  Yolo 

Superior Court Virtual Courtroom and conference call information is posted on the Yolo Court’s 

Website at www.yolo.courts.ca.gov. 

 

TENTATIVE RULING 

Case:    Boulett v. Sutter Health Foundation 

Case No. CVPO 18-640 

Hearing Date:   July 31, 2020  Department Nine        9:00 a.m. 

 

Defendants Sutter Medical Foundation’s, Sutter Health’s, and Ft. Sutter Surgery Center’s 

unopposed motion for summary judgment is GRANTED. (Code of Civ. Proc., § 437c, subd. 

(p)(2).) Sutter defendants have established a complete defense to plaintiffs Mary Boulett’s and 

John Boulett’s second amended complaint. (Ibid.) Sutter defendants have established that the one 

year statute of limitations began to run by October 19, 2016 when plaintiff Ms. Boulett 

discovered her injury and suspected the injury was caused by wrongdoing. (Sanchez v. South 

Hoover Hospital (1976) 18 Cal.3d 93, 102; Drexler v. Petersen (2016) 4 Cal.App.5th 1181, 

1190; Sutter Defendants UMFs 11-19 .) Even with a 90 day extension, there is no material issue 

of disputed fact that the statute of limitations to bring plaintiff’s action expired before plaintiffs 

filed their complaint on April 12, 2018. (Code Civ. Proc., §§ 340.5, 364; Sutter Defendants 

UMFs 11-19.)  

 

If no hearing is requested, this tentative ruling is effective immediately. No formal order 

pursuant to California Rule of Court 3.1312 or further notice is required. 

 

Defendant Ian J. Logan, M.D.,’s unopposed motion for summary judgment is GRANTED. 

(Code of Civ. Proc., § 437c, subd. (p)(2).) Defendant has established a complete defense to the 

plaintiffs’ second amended complaint. (Code of Civ. Proc., § 437c, subd. (p)(2).) Defendant Dr. 

Logan has established that the one year statute of limitations began to run by October 19, 2016 

and even with a 90 day extension, expired before plaintiffs filed their complaint on April 12, 

2018. (Code Civ. Proc., §§ 340.5, 364; Sanchez v. South Hoover Hospital (1976) 18 Cal.3d 93, 

102; Drexler v. Petersen (2016) 4 Cal.App.5th 1181, 1190; Defendant Dr. Logan’s UMF’s 1-6.)  

 

If no hearing is requested, this tentative ruling is effective immediately. No formal order 

pursuant to California Rule of Court 3.1312 or further notice is required. 

http://www.yolo.courts.ca.gov/
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TENTATIVE RULING 

Case:    Castellanos v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Association 

Case No. CV PM 20-785 

Hearing Date:   July 31, 2020  Department Nine                           9:00 a.m. 

 

Defendant State Farm Mutual Automobile Association’s unopposed motion to compel Xitaly 

Castellanos’s deposition, answers to form interrogatories, set one, and responses to production of 

documents, set one is GRANTED. (Code Civ. Proc., §§ 2025.450, subd. (a), 2030.290 subds. 

(a), (b); 2031.300, subds. (a), (b).)  Plaintiff shall serve verified answers to form interrogatories, 

set one, and verified responses to demand for production, set one, without objections, within 20 

days of the date of this hearing.  Plaintiff shall contact defendant’s attorney to set a date for and 

to complete her deposition within 30 days of the date of this hearing. 

 

Defendant’s request for sanctions is GRANTED in the amount of $787.50. (Dec. of McDowell, 

¶ 10; Code Civ. Proc., §§ 2023.030, subd. (a), 2025.450, subd. (g)(1), 2030.290, subd., (c), 

2031.300, subd. (c); Cal. Rules of Court, rule 3.1348.)  Plaintiff shall pay the sanctions to 

defendant within 20 days of the date of this hearing. 

 

If no hearing is requested, this tentative ruling is effective immediately.  No formal order 

pursuant to California Rule of Court 3.1312 or further notice is required. 

 


